Emotional Tabal makes history, wins 5th straight Milo Marathon

first_imgMary Joy Tabal crumpled on the floor and began to weep.Tabal had just crossed the finish line to extend her reign as the Philippines’ undisputed marathon queen and end what had been a highly emotional last 24 hours following the death of her father Rolando Tabal due to complications with pneumonia. He was 58.ADVERTISEMENT Jake says relationship with Shaina ‘goes beyond physical attraction’ Jo Koy: My brain always wants to think funny Don’t miss out on the latest news and information. Coco’s house rules on ‘Probinsyano’ set ”Coming into this race, I know it’s going to be hard because I didn’t get any sleep but I just wanted to finish the race regardless of performance,” a tearful Tabal told reporters during the post-race press conference at Cebu City Sports Center.”I dedicate this to him. I offer this run to him and I know he was running with me earlier,” she said.FEATURED STORIESSPORTSRedemption is sweet for Ginebra, Scottie ThompsonSPORTSMayweather beats Pacquiao, Canelo for ‘Fighter of the Decade’SPORTSAfter winning title, time for LA Tenorio to give back to Batangas folkThe 28-year-old Tabal on Sunday became the first runner to win the Milo Marathon for five straight years after clocking 2:58:01.Tabal, the Rio Olympian and SEA Games gold medalist, pulled off the historical feat in her beloved hometown of Cebu, where the biggest running event in the country was staged for the first time. Kiss-and-tell matinee idol’s conquests: True stories or tall tales? Margot Robbie talks about filming ‘Bombshell’s’ disturbing sexual harassment scene Mary Joy Tabal bursts into tears after crossing the finish line to win the Milo Marathon for a record fifth consecutive time. Tabal achieved the feat a day following the death of his father. Photo by Mark Giongco/INQUIRER.netChristabel Martes came in second with a time of 3:04:20 while Jho-an Villarama finished third at 3:11:27. Judelyn Miranda (3:14:20) and Ruffa Sorongon (3:15:17) completed the top five.In the men’s category, Joerge Andrade was the fastest to complete the 42k centerpiece at 2:39:34. Erick Panique followed at 2:42:10, Eduardo Buenavista came in third at 2:43:34, Erinio Raquin in fourth at 2:44:34 while Jerald Zabala wound up fifth at 2:46:59.An unknown runner from Digos City, Andrade was the biggest surprise of the finale. He left marathon veterans Erick Panique and Eduardo Buenavista in the dust despite participating in only his first crack at the National Finals.Andrade finished just third in the General Santos leg to earn a slot in the finals.Tabal still emerged on top despite finishing 11 minutes later than her personal record run of 2:47:53 last year in Iloilo.ADVERTISEMENT A new cheer rises Jake says relationship with Shaina ‘goes beyond physical attraction’ Coco’s house rules on ‘Probinsyano’ set MOST READ OSG plea to revoke ABS-CBN franchise ‘a duplicitous move’ – Lacson It’s too early to present Duterte’s ‘legacy’ – Lacson Jeson Agravante, last year’s Milo Marathon King, failed to finish the race this time.Sports Related Videospowered by AdSparcRead Next Carpio hits red carpet treatment for China Coast Guard PLAY LIST 02:14Carpio hits red carpet treatment for China Coast Guard02:56NCRPO pledges to donate P3.5 million to victims of Taal eruption00:56Heavy rain brings some relief in Australia02:37Calm moments allow Taal folks some respite03:23Negosyo sa Tagaytay City, bagsak sa pag-aalboroto ng Bulkang Taal01:13Christian Standhardinger wins PBA Best Player award LATEST STORIES View commentslast_img read more